The Florida Department of Health in Marion County can issue birth certificates for anyone born within the State of Florida from 1930 to present.
Older birth records are available from The Bureau of Vital Statistics in Jacksonville. Find out more at www.FloridaHealth.gov/certificates.
Florida law restricts the issuance of birth certificates.
- Individuals 18 years of age and older may obtain their own certificates.
- Parents or guardians who present court documents showing legal custody may obtain certificates for others.
- Attorneys may obtain certificates if they are representing children and adolescents under 18. Documentation must be provided.
Proof of identity is required to prove eligibility. Acceptable forms of ID are Driver’s License, State ID Card issued by the Department of Motor Vehicles, Military ID, or U.S. Passport. Expired identification will not be accepted.
The Florida Department of Health in Marion County can provide a Certified Certificate, which is an abstract of the original birth certificate and is accepted as legal proof of birth and citizenship. Certificates are available for birth years 1930 to the present.
When Ordering from the Florida Department of Health in Marion County
Certified Birth Certificate: $13.00
- Available for all Florida births 1930 to present
- Computer-generated copy of the original record
- Accepted as legal proof of birth and citizenship
Additional certificates on the same record, ordered at the same time, are $7.00
Protective plastic sleeve for the birth certificate $3.00
How to Order
In-Person at our Ocala facility, 1801 SE 32nd Avenue:
- Cash, checks, money orders, Visa and MasterCard are acceptable forms of payment. Current ID is required in person.
- Acceptable forms of ID are Driver’s License, State ID Card issued by the Department of Motor Vehicles, Military ID, or U.S. Passport.
- Marion County Vital Statistics is open 8 a.m.-4:30 p.m. Monday-Friday.
- Fill out the Application for Florida Birth Record
- Include a check or money order made payable to Florida Department of Health in Marion County.
- Include a copy of the applicant’s valid identification.
- Orders will be processed within 5–7 business days. This does not include postal transit time to and from our office.
Orders will be returned unprocessed if the requests are incomplete.
For births that occurred in other states, see the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention Where to Write for Vital Records page.
The Marion County Tax Collector can issue birth certificates at some Marion County locations. Call 352-368-8200 for more information.