Skip Global navigation and goto content

Frequently Asked Questions (COVID-19 Vaccine)

Florida Department of Health in Marion County

ELIGIBILITY

Who is eligible to receive a COVID-19 vaccine in Florida?

The state is prioritizing the following for COVID-19 vaccines:

  • Long-term care facility residents and staff
  • Persons 65 years of age and older
  • Health care personnel with direct patient contact
  • K-12 school employees 50 years of age and older
  • Sworn law enforcement officers 50 years of age and older
  • Firefighters 50 years of age and older
  • Individuals deemed extremely vulnerable to COVID-19

I’m part of the group that qualifies due to being extremely vulnerable to COVID-19. What paperwork do I need to show to receive a vaccination?

Your physician will need to complete this form. You will then need to take that form with you to your vaccination appointment at one of the retail pharmacies or federal sites providing vaccinations. Per Florida EO 21-47, the form cannot currently be used for vaccination at the Paddock Mall site.

Do I need to live in Florida full-time to get my vaccine here?

Both full-time and seasonal residents are eligible to get their COVID-19 vaccines in Florida. Someone should only get their shot in Florida, however, if they will be in Florida for the time period needed to receive both shots.

What do I need to show to provide proof of residency to receive my COVID-19 vaccine?

Residents should bring a copy of a valid Florida driver’s license or Florida identification card.

Seasonal residents can bring copies of two of the below for a proof of residential address:

  • A deed, mortgage, monthly mortgage statement, mortgage payment booklet or residential rental or lease agreement.
  • A utility hookup or work order dated within 60 days before registration.
  • A utility bill not more than 2 months old.
  • Mail from a financial institution, including checking, savings or investment account statements not more than 2 months old.
  • Mail from a federal, state, county or municipal government agency not more than 2 months old.

Seasonal residents living with a permanent resident (includes a parent, step-parent or legal guardian) should bring:

  • One proof of residential address from the list above
  • Statement from the person with whom you are living

I’m an essential worker. When will I be eligible for a COVID-19 vaccination?

There is not a firm timeline for when vaccination opportunities will open beyond current priority groups. As vaccine supplies increase, opportunities to be vaccinated will open up more. However, opportunities are still limited at this time due to supply being limited.  

 

REGISTRATION

Did you receive our sign-up?

If you registered for a vaccination through MyVaccine.FL.gov, you can call 833-540-2070 to confirm your registration. Depending on how you asked to be notified, you should also begin receiving emails or text messages from MyVaccine.FL.gov that remind you of your registration.

How do I register to receive a vaccination?

To pre-register for future vaccine through a state-supported site, visit https://myvaccine.fl.gov/ or call 866-201-6768 (TTY # is 833-476-1519).

You can also register for a COVID-19 vaccine appointment through one of the below:

Signups through Publix, Walmart, Sam's Club and Winn Dixie pharmacies are available online only.

 

APPOINTMENTS

When will you be calling me for an appointment?

Schedulers call between the hours of 8 a.m. and 8 p.m. Monday through Friday and 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. on Saturday and Sunday. Registrants receive calls for appointments in the order in which DOH-Marion received their signups.

If you missed your call for an appointment and would still like to be vaccinated by the health department, please contact us at Info.Marion@FLHealth.gov.

What phone number will you be calling from to set an appointment?

Department of Health in Marion County schedulers’ calls should display as coming from the health department’s main phone number, which is 352-629-0137. We encourage you to save this phone number into your contact list so you recognize it when you receive the call.

If you have spam block on your phone, you may want to turn it off while you are waiting for a call regarding a vaccination appointment.

I missed my call about a vaccination appointment. What now?

If you missed your call for an appointment and did not receive a phone number to call back and would still like to be vaccinated, please contact us at Info.Marion@FLHealth.gov.

Can I schedule my appointment for a second dose with you?

You will need to get your second dose of vaccine through the same agency that you received your first dose of vaccine. Please contact that agency for more information on its second dose appointments.

DOH-Marion schedules all second dose appointments at the time of first dose vaccination.

Can my spouse book my COVID-19 appointment for me?

Yes, your spouse can accept your appointment for you.

 

COST & LOCATION

Are COVID-19 vaccinations free?

COVID-19 vaccinations will always be provided free of charge. Schedulers will never ask for credit card information.  

Where will the vaccinations be given?

The current site for vaccinations scheduled by the Department of Health in Marion County is the Paddock Mall (3100 SW College Road) in Ocala. Vaccinations are by pre-registered appointments only; no walk-ups are accepted. The entrance site for vaccinations is located next to the Belk entrance facing Southwest College Road.

Are people able to get a vaccine only in the county in which they reside?

No, you are eligible to get the vaccine in any county as long as you meet the state’s eligibility requirements. For information on pre-registering for future vaccine in various Florida counties, visit https://myvaccine.fl.gov/. For the latest information on COVID-19 vaccines in Florida, visit www.floridahealthcovid19.gov.

 

VACCINE & VACCINE AVAILABILITY

What vaccine will I receive?

DOH-Marion is receiving Pfizer COVID-19 vaccine currently. This vaccine is a 2-dose shot. Pfizer requires 21 days between the first and second shot. For more information about this shot and other approved COVID-19 vaccines, please visit https://www.cdc.gov/vaccines/covid-19/eua/.

What places in Marion County are providing COVID-19 vaccinations?

Multiple locations in Marion County are providing COVID-19 vaccinations. They include:

Signups through Publix, Walmart, Sam's Club and Winn Dixie pharmacies for vaccination appointments are available online only.

When will I be able to schedule my shot?

If you registered through MyVaccine.FL.gov, the time that your shot is available will depend on when you signed up and the number of vaccines that the department receives each week. DOH-Marion receives varying amounts of vaccines each week from state government; currently, the department receives about 3,000 first dose vaccines a week.